The lemon law of North Carolina (also known as the New Motor Vehicles Warranties Act) applies to all motor vehicles sold in the state with less than 10,000 pounds. Includes vehicles that are purchased or rented by law.
Under North Carolina lemon law, if the vehicle has a serious defect that prevents it from complying with its warranty and the consumer complains about the issue within the express warranty, the manufacturer must resolve the non-compliance. One that is inconsistent is one that significantly affects the use, value or safety of the vehicle. If the manufacturer cannot resolve the inconsistency after a reasonable attempt, the vehicle must be repurposed or modified by the consumer. The manufacturer is deemed to have had a reasonable chance of resolving the nonconformity, after 4 attempts to repair the same nonconformity, or after repairing one or more other non-compliant vehicles.
To apply this presumption, the consumer must notify the manufacturer in writing of the defect and inform the manufacturer within 15 days of repairs. The consumer must also file a claim with the manufacturer within 10 days of filing the claim under North Carolina lemon law.
The manufacturer is not liable for non-compliance if the consumer has caused abuse, tampering, or alterations. In addition, the flaws must be evident within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles.
Prior to filing lemon law in North Carolina with a court filing system, the consumer must try to resolve the issue with the manufacturer's settlement committee, if any, and if the board is certified and the lemon law process information was received. at the time of sale.
If a vehicle purchased by a consumer is re-purchased by the manufacturer under North Carolina lemon law, the manufacturer must pay the full purchase price of the vehicle, service contract and warranty (s) prices, vendor preparation and delivery, installed options, taxes, labels and registration, by the consumer first. reporting on nonconformity, and the direct consequences of nonconformity.
The manufacturer has the consumer's right to use the vehicle. The displacement is calculated by dividing the number of kilometers driven by the consumer by 100,000 and multiplying the result by the purchase price.
If a rented vehicle is purchased under North Carolina lemon law, the renter (consumer) will receive an amount that includes all payments made on the lease, including taxes, labels, registration and other government fees on the lease, and at any cost. were the direct consequences of nonconformism. The reasonable compensation for using the vehicle is subtracted from this amount, as calculated above.
If a vehicle is replaced by lemon law in North Carolina, the replacement must be a new vehicle similar to the original. No use compensation can be applied.